top of page
 The thing is :
Stay In The Know:

The first post - a creative title.


I never thought that I'd be able to create art from a place of joy.

You'll see if you read my poetry that much of my art is birthed from pain and not moments of immense joy, but recently things have changed.

I feel as if I've entered a new phase of my life in which everything is beautiful to me- pretty much everyday. It's an unexpected kind of abundance in which I find the fact that the jasmine is in bloom again mind blowing, and the way my roommate and I giggle until 3 AM when we're both tired a miracle.

So I wanted to create a space to share this human experience and Godly joy.

I just want to use this platform as a space to interrogate my life, as well as the experiences of others lives. This is a space for positivity and infinite growth.

Negativity is not welcome here.

I think I had this fixed idea in my mind that to achieve greatness I needed to go out into the world, instead of changing my world first. So that's what I'm going to try to do, will wonderful things into existence from right here on this blog page, in room 90, in my res, in this amazing country. And greatness for me right now, is simply achieving sustainable happiness. A happiness that I can bathe my soul in at any time I please because I've birthed it and I've earned it- the right to be indescribably happy. So it's no longer a transaction, happiness isn't a commodity to me- it's just a part of who I am.

So reader, here's my prayer for us both. I hope this blog conjures an insatiable thirst for knowledge in your mind. I hope this blog cam illicit a thought provoking lust to understand the power of words and the way we use them. I hope this blog challenges your beliefs and the origin thereof in a way that motivates you to leave comments on my blog. I hope, if nothing else that this blog can bring a smile to your face.

Sincerely miss melanin obsessed,

SANKOFA

Image sourced from : http://www.colormequirkyblog.com/blog/2015/2/7/neon-lights

 

bottom of page